Funding Announcement

Wednesday, 1st March, 2017

2016 was a great year for Scottish cycling, from the heroics of Braveheart alumni in Rio, to the breakthrough on the domestic and world stages for some of our up and coming riders. This continued success and the growing media attention is having a positive effect on cycling in Scotland, which is reflected in the high number of applications Braveheart received for funding in 2017.

The quality of rider who put themselves forward also increases each year, making it more difficult to choose who we can award funding to. Indeed, this year we increased the amount of funded riders from our usual 10 to 15 riders.  To the unsuccessful riders, we wish you a great 2017 and hope to see your applications for 2018.

The Braveheart Pack

This year’s Braveheart ‘pack’ contains a number of returnees including Neah Evans, fresh from an all-conquering 2016 on the track, and Mark Stewart, who has already been mixing it with World Tour stars in France and Spain for the An Post team this year.

At the same time we have a number of new faces riding for Braveheart including Joe Nally, the youngest British Points Race National Champion ever and a prominent racer on the junior cobbled classics in 2016, and Ella Connolly who is already riding for the British Cycling Senior Academy in MTB & Cyclocross.

Developing Scottish Cycling

At the same time we also celebrate the role Scottish cycling clubs have in developing our stars of the future and are happy to continue supporting four clubs who make young riders a priority in 2017. We thank these clubs and other clubs out there helping youngsters get on their bikes.

Continued Support For The Braveheart Fund

In all we have funded 15 riders and 4 clubs to the tune of £30,000 this year, which was generated by you, the Scottish Cycling community. We thank for your generosity and support in 2016 and hope this will continue in 2017.

Our intake for 2017 represents the best of young Scottish Cycling across all the disciplines and we look forward to following their success through the year. Check back on to our website and social media streams regularly to find out how our supported riders and clubs have been doing in 2017.

Funded Riders:

Stuart Balfour – Road
Rhona Callender – Track
Angus Claxton – Track Endurance
Jack Carlin – Track Sprint
Ella Connolly – MTB
Neah Evans – Track Endurance
Sean Flynn – MTB
Lucy Grant – Track Spring
Fraser Martin – Road
Grant Martin – Road
Jonathan Mitchell – Track Spring
Joe Nally – Road/Track
Luisa Steel – Road/Track
Lewis Stewart – Track Sprint
Mark Stewart – Track Endurance

Supported Clubs:

Glasgow RT
Johnstone Jets
Spokes RT

Keep up to date with all our latest news and announcements on our social media profiles:

Like us on Facebook

Follow Us On Twitter


Pro Rider Cycling



Endura Equip