Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

2016 Braveheart Ride
 All Forums
 Braveheart Cycling Fund Forums
 General Discussion (Track Cycling)
 Junior Women in Scotland (Scottish Track Champs)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pinkarchie
Learner

6 Posts

Posted - 19 Oct 2012 :  13:44:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

I'm new to braveheart, as well as relatively new to track cycling so I'm feeling a bit naive on the issue of junior women's track racing.

This entire season, the one and only time I encountered another scottish junior girl whilst racing (including track league) was at the British Nationals. This should have made me realise from the off that the scene is quite empty, but it's taken reading that I am one of only 3 girls entered for our own Scottish track champs to shock me into thinking it's a pretty poor state of affairs. There is even a bronze medal going spare if they decide to run the points race in which only two are entered.

I understand that there's a huge list of circumstances that explain why more young people aren't involved in this expensive and specific sport, but none that explain why the girls are dropping so far behind the boys in numbers.

I also realise I'm speaking too late about this to have much impact on the entries for track champs.

Am I raising an issue that people are already all too aware of? Is anyone able to tell me why the sex divide is so apparent? Do we think our new velodrome is going to change this?